Miles: 15

Camp: My CDT mile 2570

If only life were made of 15 mile days. I could be happy forever on days like today. I hiked alone most of the day, but had a couple of good breaks with Bumerang, Sunrise, Dragon and Uberdude. There was enough “traffic” on the trail that I didn’t worry about bears and the scenery was truly unbelievable. Glacier is one of those places that you can’t believe exists, even when it is right in front of you. It seems impossible and yet here it is, just kinda hanging out in Montana. What a treat!

I spent some time reflecting on the trail today, realizing how it has changed my entire mind about myself. I honestly didn’t think I would make it, I really thought I didn’t have it in me and suddenly I’m 35 miles from Canada. The finish line is within reach and I don’t know which feeling is stronger; run or drag my heels. 

The icing on the cake of today was the trail magic we got in Many Glacier. Uberdude’s parents came to meet us and brought a great spread with them. We had beer, soda, vegetables, guacamole, muffins, pecan pie, a campfire and Baggins even caught a couple of trout. The mood has been relaxed, celebratory, reminiscent and all around delighted by Glacier National Park. This whole thing is ending on such a sweet note. I look forward to the last two days at the same time I resent them…but alas, all good things come to an end, sore toes and all.

Dinner: trail magic!

A little Magic before leaving camp.

