Miles: 23.3
Camp: CDT mile 969.3
Elevation at camp: 10800 feet

Another beautiful sunrise to wake up to, even if I didn’t sleep much last night. Sometimes I wonder if it’s elevation, as I was certainly tired enough last night. I tossed and turned, eventually getting some shut eye, though I would have preferred more.

The morning was quite beautiful though. I went over a pass to arrive at Cottonwood Pass where I could have hitched to the town of Buena Vista, but there was no need. I hiked into a beautiful valley where I stayed most of the morning. It had lots of trees and was well shaded. As it was a hot day, this was quite welcome.

After lunch I had to climb over Lake Ann Pass, a 1500 foot climb in 2 miles. Fortunately it had switchbacks, so it wasn’t a straight shot. It still took an hour to get up there, a slow and hot mile. It was beautiful from the top, but I had to overcome the obstacle of a snow wall…

image

image

It was steep on both sides, but I had to pick a set of footprints and have faith that the snow would hold on. I missed Jerry, if only for the time it took to get over.

image

After a successful descent, I had to navigate a steep mile of loose rocks. This made for even slower progress, and soon it was getting a little later than planned. I had hoped to make an early camp tonight, but wanted to make my miles…so I kept going.

The later part of the day was quite pleasant though, walking through a big shady forest next to a river. I crossed many streams and rivers, soon making it to a spot I decided to call home for the night. The lack of sleep last night and the tough navigation over the pass had finally caught me. I’m as close as I want to be to make it to Twin Lakes tomorrow, and I’m right on schedule. Twin Lakes isn’t a real town, but I have a resupply box and new shoes there. I’m really excited for the shoes! I have been getting lots of pain in the balls of my feet and toes lately, and Titan swears by the Altra Olympus for the cushioning. I had shoes at home ready to go, but I really want to try these out. I have a feeling they will provide lots of relief. Fingers crossed!

Should have some down time to focus on the blog a bit tomorrow…should.

Dinner: yakisoba noodles with jerky, veggies, coconut oil and lots of spices.

image

image

image
Climbing up Lake Ann Pass

image

image
Lake Ann and the Collegiates

image

image
View from camp
