Miles: 23.7
Camp: CDT mile 946 (ish)*
Elevation at camp: 12050 feet

*a note on mileage: there are 2 sets of maps/map makers for the CDT. I’ve been following Jonathan Ley for the most part, though his mileage tends to conflict with Bear Creek (which one of my phone apps uses). Today I took a Bear Creek route which will probably happen again. I’m trying to be as accurate as possible for my own records, but may find some conflicting numbers for actual trail miles. Somehow Ley has longer miles…so Bear Creek would say I’ve been farther each day. It’s hard to say, but I do my best!

Today was the first real day in the mountains without any real snow! There were some traverses, but the snow is soft and easy to kick steps into. It is nice to walk trails through the mountains without snowshoes. I got all the way up to 12800 feet today and felt better than ever! It was a long day with lots and lots of climbs, so it is a picture day. There isn’t anything much of note to say…it was gorgeous as usual. I’m mostly in the Collegiate Range at the moment, and there are starting to be more people out there who are not thru hikers. I didn’t see too many today, but it is in the air…hot summer days and beautiful mountain ranges, who can resist?

Dinner: cheddar and broccoli knorr side with jerky and salsa.

image
A heart shaped lake named Hancock
image
Bunny sighting!

image

image

image

image
Lunch view

image

image

image

image

image
View from camp
