Miles: 14
Camp: CDT mile 721
Elevation: 11400 feet

Today was pretty exhausting. We climbed up over 12600 feet, down to 11700, up over 12800 and down to 11400…all with the heaviest pack weight we should see this whole trail. It was also extremely hot! I usually hike in a thermal top, but had to switch to my button down, and I was still quite hot. I would have loved to go for a swim today, but the lakes are frozen and probably way too cold anyway. One thing is for sure, the snow is melting fast in Colorado. Very fast. Sometimes the trail was an actual river…and there was grass and flowers, butterflies and bees. It was a beautiful June day.

It took everything I had to make it to camp tonight, our last 2 miles descending through mashed potato snow. The daily storm seemed just about to hit when we got to camp so I set up fast and am so happy to be horizontal. I’m keeping this short because it kind of hurts to have my eyes open. I’m sleepy. The pictures can tell the rest of the story.

Dinner: mac and cheese with salsa, green beans and oregano.

image

image

image

image

image

image
Scariest part of the day. Not bad at all.
image
Those storms just missed us
image
Rock climbing rock man
image
When trail is covered in snow
image
My view right now
image
Squirrel in his tent doing Squirrely things
image
View from the loo
