Miles: 12
Camp: Ghost Ranch CDT mile 548

I had really hoped to sleep in today as I only had 12 miles to go…but alas, my body is on a schedule now. In fact, I woke up half an hour early with no hope of going back to sleep. It just doesn’t work that way for me.

No bother, I got up and went hiking. The desert was beautiful with the full moon hanging around until after sunrise.

image
This also happens to be the view the loo

The walking was easy as I made my way to the Rio Chama. I wondered if I would go for a swim when I arrived, as it was a large river…but I soon found out there would be no swimming in it’s raging waters. The water was quite tumultuous, reminding me of a frothy sea. As I passed in the morning, the light wasn’t good enough to show in the photo:

image

The trail joined a road after crossing the Skull Bridge (I saw 0 skulls). The road followed the river for a while, and as usual I was making too quick time on the road. It is real hard to slow down on a road walk…so I took a long relaxing break in the shade of a Juniper tree.

After break I was supposed to go off road to a trail, but I missed the turn and ended up walking to the freeway…just as much in the right direction, but less pleasant than trail. It was a short jaunt on the busy road, but I still couldn’t find the trail…I had to trespass at an old closed down museum to get back on track. There was a lot of barbed wire fence jumping and commando crawling, but I did find the trail. It appears to be a popular trespass as well, because I was definitely following footprints of other hikers.

Finally I made it to the beautiful Ghost Ranch at 11:30…way earlier than I had planned, but the place is so nice that I don’t mind. I saw Hiker Box, Squirrel, Rampage, Handstand…and so many other hikers I hadn’t seen since I decided to hike alone from Grants. It was great to see everyone. Slingshot was playing piano in a large room, and I sat outside the open window watching the world go by, listening to the music.

I got my box from myself, with added treats from Phoenix (love you lady!) and another box from my friend Elaine (so many good treats, thank you!!). She sent lots of great snacks to eat while I’m hanging out here…so I don’t have to buy all of the meals. I shared my treats with the others and continued to listen to the music for hours…

At 5:30 we went to the all you can eat dinner, and it was really good! We had pork loin, stuffing, sweet potatoes, veggies, salad and carrot cake. It was a great meal. Now we are all camping in the lovely campground here under the stars. I can’t wait to explore more tomorrow!

image

image

image

image

