Miles: 6
Camp: Del Prado Motel CDT mile 498

Last night was probably my worst night of sleep on trail. It was windy when I got to camp so I set up my tent when really I should have cowboy camped. The wind died down after dinner and it was super warm…I was sweaty and restless all night, my quilt having a 10 degree rating. Even when I stuck a sweaty limb out of the quilt, I would then be too cold.
It didn’t matter much though as an easy day was ahead.

I got walking at 6:45 and popped in my headphones to help me get through the roadwalk. It was all pavement into town, so to keep spirits up, I listened to Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me. This made the walk go by in no time…where next I knew I was walking into a cafe on the edge of town.

I sat with Mack, Rib and Michael and I ate my biggest meal to date (on the CDT): a 2 egg breakfast with a pancake to top it off and a lot of coffee to wash it all down. Then it was on to the post office where I had some wonderful things waiting for me. My mom sent me new socks and gaiters, and my friend Matt sent me my resupply box. It was just in the nick of time for the socks and gaiters, as all of mine have holes in them at this point. The food Matt sent was all wonderful too! He sent lots of veggies (dried beets, green beans, broccoli and chanterelles…so good!) which are especially hard to find in trail towns…cous cous, the healthy ramen, smoked salmon, my favorite tuna….and so much more wonderful stuff. He really did a great job…thanks Matt! You are awesome! I can’t wait to eat all of this yummy food!

image
Resupply after repackaging

The rest of the day was for laundry, eating and catching up with other hikers. It has been a great town stop, but I’m ready to get back to trail in the morning. It has been a long, full day…and I am super tired. Bedtime in a hotel bed to myself sounds dreamy…and I’m off to dreamland.

Dinner: carne avodaba enchiladas with avocado and super spicy Chile sauce…and a margarita.

image

image

image
Chiles drying in the sun

image

image
View from the loo
