Miles: 21
Camp: Motel 6 in Grants, NM CDT mile 395

The night was relatively warm, but there was a cold wind that kept me tossing and turning all night. I didn’t sleep well, but did manage to wake up half an hour early to get moving into town.

Walking was still painful, but knowing I will take 2 days off in Grants kept me moving forward. I took a couple of breaks to eat food, but nothing really relieved the pain this morning, so I took some ibuprofen and dealt with it on that long winding road.

I found myself walking through the beautiful Zuni Canyon and was really into the scenery. The canyon walls were high and colorful, much how I pictured New Mexico before I arrived.

image

image

image

Finally the canyon emptied onto a paved road and one of the blisters on the ball of my foot burst open. It hurt to keep walking on it, but I’m happy it gave. It is hard to drain the ones on the ball of my foot due to calluses. It helps that nature took it’s course even if it took a paved road walk to make it happen.

A nice couple stopped to ask why all these people are walking down the road and offered me a ride into town. I wanted to say yes so bad, but I’m not wanting to skip miles this early (hopefully never). I politely declined and continued to enjoy the scenery.

By the time I reached town I wished I had taken the ride, my dogs were barking! I walked as far as the trail ends and then asked for a ride from a man pumping gas the last 2 miles to the hotel. I could barely walk at that point, but felt great for staying true to my thru.

Everyone else was already in town and getting things done. I took a shower and laid on the bed for a while, so happy to be off my feet. Fortunately there is a Chinese Buffet across from the hotel, so the only walking I had to do was to there. It was great to eat everything and not be full…they even had ice cream for dessert.

After dinner we say around talking and drinking beers before bed. It feels good to be in town with nothing but rest ahead.

image

image

image
View from the loo
