Miles: 21
Camp: CDT mile 332.4

Leaving town after a zero usually goes one of two ways. Either you feel so rested and invigorated that it is effortless, or you just can’t find the energy. Since we had another road walk out of town, the terrain didn’t offer any motivation. In fact, we have 53 total miles of road to walk this section. It is hard to get excited about walking down a dirt road…but it is part of the trail and in order to get to the epic we must suffer the mundane.

That said, the day was pretty nondescript. We had breakfast at the Pie Town Cafe where they opened early just to make our last meal as we left town. It was a great meal, and we all did our last internet chores before hiking out. I had 99% of my last blog loaded (30 minutes and 30% of my battery used) when the wifi ducked out. Everyone else had hiked on and I was done sitting around, so I hit the road.

I walked alone all morning, enjoying the solitude, but feeling new blisters form. We all have a new rash of blisters from the road, not to mention compressed knees from heavy resupply. Since we all ran low on food last section, we are all carrying too much food this section. It’s always something on a thru hike. I’d still choose nothing over this, even if it was a painful day.

We also got to visit with some amazing trail angels today. An elderly couple that are about the cutest thing ever. Their names are John and Anzie Thomas and they provide a wonderful space for hikers to hang out in, as well as water. They were a glorious couple who really brightened our day.

image

image

image

We then finished our 21 mile day and are sacking out in camp. I’m cowboy camping for the first time in a while…I want to lay under a blanket of New Mexico stars tonight. I need the nature moment to compensate for the dirt road walking, which I am working on embracing; for the day will come when I miss it all, when it is all a memory. That is why they say, “embrace the brutality.” That is what I plan to do.

image

image
No explanation for this...

image

image

image
View from the loo

Dinner: beef burritos (rehydrated jerky with broccoli, salsa, corn, refried beans, sundried tomatoes and cous cous)

