Miles: 23.63
Camp: CDT mile 305

Sometimes a lesson has to be lived to be learned, and sometimes it has to be relived. By deciding to stay at the campground last night, we had to live with the fact that there were some drunk hunters camping nearby. Over time they seemed to multiply as especially terrible country music took over the camp with them. We all lay in our tents with earplugs and shirts wrapped around our heads, clinging to the hope that the party would end soon.

I don’t know when it ended, but I made it to sleep eventually.

We woke to a very cold morning and after I drank my coffee, the remaining liquid in my pot froze. It was the coldest morning yet.

This caused us to walk fast out of camp, leaving behind a subpar night of sleep. The speed of our hiking was directly proportional to the temperature in the air. Occasionally we would round a bend and the sun would be shining, then we would start sweating, but only briefly as we would round another bend into the cold. It was uncomfortable hiking. On a road no less.

The roads have virtually no traffic, maybe an occasional rancher who stops to say hello…but they go on for foot grinding miles. I have worn through the insoles in my shoes at the ball of my foot and sand gets trapped there. I have 2 painful blisters there on each foot, and can’t get new insoles until we get to Grants (100 miles away)…so I plan to give duct tape a try. Anything to stop the only painful part of walking. I otherwise feel great, ready to hike on and see what’s next.

We stayed on road all day and found a place to camp 6 miles out of Pie Town. I’m ready to give these feet a break, and this belly needs a meal it deserves (something with everything on it). It has been 9 days since we have been in a town, done laundry, taken showers, eaten a good meal…we are so ready to get cozy in a town named after pie.

Dinner: refried beans with cous cous, veggies, chicken, salsa, corn, plantain chips and corn on tortillas – basically the last food I have besides oatmeal for breakfast…and 1 Starburst.

image

image
Dust Bunny, Wilderness, Hiker Box (previously Spirit), Rampage and Cerveza
image
Endless roads
image
The water gatherin place

image

image

image

image

image

image
Camp tonight
image
View from the loo
