Miles: 18
Camp: Moore Canyon CDT mile 162 (previous mileage was off)

I accidentally deleted my blog for this day, but it wasn’t the most eventful day anyway. In not going to let technology ruin a good thing, so here is a recap in pictures…to the best of my ability and memory.

First off, we met Billy the Kid on our way out of town. He asked me to smuggle some firearms over the border, but I had to decline because my pack is heavy enough already.

image

Then we walked the road out of town on a pavement which hurt our feet a lot…right into the Gila National Forest, where we will soon be tromping through the Gila River.

image

Soon after the road ended, we found our first natural source of water on trail. We didn’t need any at the time, but we sat there anyway enjoying our first break by a river.

image

image

It was all evident that we were in the desert even though we were in the mountains with streams.

image

The views were nice.

image

Then we tiptoed through the Devil’s Garden…a beautiful rock garden among the hills.

image

image

image

That’s all I got for the day. Better blogs to come…I think I know what I messed up, so I’ll do my best not to do it again.

image
View from the loo
